A little late to the game?

JoeC

Hello All.
This is my first post after years of reading the forums (I've gained so much knowledge from this site and a bit of guilt in not being able to contribute...), and I'm sure it's going to be a doozy!

I've been dreaming of being an airline pilot since about 4 years old... An Alitalia MD11 crew member took me up the cockpit somewhere above the Atlantic, and I've been in love ever since. The years went by, and I couldn't shake the aviation bug off. I started my family at a young age, and chose to put my goals and dreams on hold until - who knows when. I'm now 27, and mentally/emotionally/semi-financially ready to start implementing gradual changes that will take my career towards the airlines (hopefully) by around age 35. In the last six or so years, since my son was born, I've started a business (real estate) and became a broker, and it pays the bills. This evening, I met with a local CFI who - according to anyone you'll talk to in our community - is truly one of the best. Our first lesson is set for next Saturday. I feel that my most obvious 'headwind' in this situation is that I am in a race against the proverbial clock: mandatory retirement at 65 for a 121.