Am I liable? (Insurance)

aviatorrbt

Hey everyone. I know this may sound like a dumb question, but I need an answer. This is the layout of my situation. I am a non-commercial pilot that works at an FBO as a lineman. I have been going on flights with a friend of mine in a Pilatus that flies only Part 91, sitting in the right seat.

A respected person from the company said that I need to discuss the situation with the owner because he believes the company I work for might be liable if the plane were to have an accident. I guess his idea comes from the fact that the same company was sued a while back because of a mishap with one of their old flight instructors being in an accident while flying another plane for a different company or individual. This instructor quit but I guess he was still legally working at the FBO because the paperwork was not official or something. (?) Anyways, the FBO lost the suit. He believes I/my company may be liable because I am a pilot who is flying with a different company.

I think this is incorrect as would any person glancing at the situation. However, being young and not knowing much about legal aspects, is there anyway that this may be true? By me going with on the Pilatus trips, is it not the same thing as me going on a flight with one of my friends in his C172? If I am not getting paid as an pilot employee for this company, there should be no connection between the two companies. Right?

Thank you for your time.

If you're really concerned about this you can do one of two things: 1) stop going on flights, or 2) check with an attorney.