Thinking about the Navy/Air Force

CameronF

Hey there!

Well come this fall I will be a Junior in College and the time is fast approaching when i need to make a decision about what I want to do with my life.

Now my long-term goal is to be flying for a major airline such as Southwest, Alaska or FedEx. However it seems there are many different paths i could take to get there...obviously some being better than others.

Currently I am a commercial pilot with both SEL, MEL and instrument. My original plan was to become a CFI and do that until I obtained the necessary hours to apply for a regional airline. I have never really wanted to CFI and recently a fellow pilot came in and talked to me about the Navy and what it had to offer. It sounded like an awesome adventure and experience. Something that I dont think I would get as much of if i were to CFI.

So I am looking for as much information as possible about what is the best choice.

To give you a little background on my academic information, I am a 2.9-3.1 student but am capable of much higher grades when I really want to apply myself. I just dont have as much interest in school as I do for flying, but I do know the value of an education and that's why i am earning my BA. I am also in great shape and have correctable vision to 20/15.

Any information is very appreciated, whether it is good or bad. I hate it when i get false information and people sugar coat things, so come with the truth and the truth only! :laff:

Thank you,
Cameron

Navy/Airforce

*Originally posted in military pilots section, but moved to try and recieve some replies.*

Hey there!

Well come this fall I will be a Junior in College and the time is fast approaching when i need to make a decision about what I want to do with my life.

Now my long-term goal is to be flying for a major airline such as Southwest, Alaska or FedEx. However it seems there are many different paths i could take to get there...obviously some being better than others.