STARs and speed/altitude restrictions in a GA plane

SlumTodd_Millionaire

Most Hated Member
Quick question for the controllers about how you'd prefer someone to file. I'm going into Vegas next week in a Mooney, and the arrivals all have speed and altitude restrictions faster and higher than my airplane even cruises. :) Obviously I can't file a STAR that says you have to be at 250 knots or FL200 at a certain fix, so I'm curious how you'd prefer that someone file:

1. Should I file the fixes that are on the STAR? Example: ...PGS CEJAY KADDY TYSSN SUZSI PRINO KLAS (where PGS is the transition fix on the STAR).

2. Or would you prefer that I just file ...PGS KLAS, ignoring that there is even a STAR, and let you fill in anything between those two fixes?

3. Something else?

Sorry, might be a very basic question, but I've been flying airliners for 15 years, and for the life of me I can't remember how I filed these back in my piston days. :)

Quick question for the controllers about how you'd prefer someone to file. I'm going into Vegas next week in a Mooney, and the arrivals all have speed and altitude restrictions faster and higher than my airplane even cruises. :) Obviously I can't file a STAR that says you have to be at 250 knots or FL200 at a certain fix, so I'm curious how you'd prefer that someone file:

1. Should I file the fixes that are on the STAR? Example: ...PGS CEJAY KADDY TYSSN SUZSI PRINO KLAS (where PGS is the transition fix on the STAR).

2. Or would you prefer that I just file ...PGS KLAS, ignoring that there is even a STAR, and let you fill in anything between those two fixes?

3. Something else?

Sorry, might be a very basic question, but I've been flying airliners for 15 years, and for the life of me I can't remember how I filed these back in my piston days. :)