Multi-Engine Time Recency

RS1

If you gain your ratings and 100+ multi at a flight school, then go on to instruct somewhere local (single engine mostly) to build time to 1500, how recent does that multi-engine time need to be to get hired at an airline or 135? I know it depends, but looking at averages here.. It could take 2 years to build 1500, and for that reason I have to work full time (office job) and instruct part time. There is no way I can afford to live for 2 years with crappy instructor pay and then another 3 or more on crappy regional pay (under 30k) after paying 50 grand for the ratings... So I choose to keep my office job. Main question is, would they count that 100 hours multi from a couple of years ago as good enough if I have been instructing SE on weekends for the past 2 years?

Thanks

Just got rent a twin somewhere every few months and get recurrent in the multi. Or, better yet, get the MEI.

Just got rent a twin somewhere every few months and get recurrent in the multi. Or, better yet, get the MEI.
thanks guys for the info, but the MEI I do plan on getting, but the school I want to instruct at doesn't really fly any multi's as of now... I don't want to leave my good paying job while instructing and this place is flexible enough to allow that, most schools with multi engine are career oriented and they want full time instructors only... I want to make a more gradual transition, not in a hurry to get to a 20k a year regional, so I can build TT while paying off my loans and what not at my office job...

Just having an MEI is in no way a guarantee of getting any ME time while you're building your total up. In the last couple of years there were very few students for ME training to go around. And the guys who already had plenty of time and experience were (rightfully) chosen as the instructors.