Flight training, and college.

For those who have gotten their additional ratings at the local FBO while attending college, how was it? Was it a pain in the ass to balance both? Any advice? Thanks!

No more than it is to fly at the university. The only problem is financing - most student loans don't cover flight training outside of the university.

However, I will offer this advice: please, PLEASE don't major in aviation! You never know when things may go wrong. I majored in flight, got through my private, started on my instrument and ran into medical issues. I'm graduating with a degree in Aviation Science & Admin from WMU and I can't buy a job.

There will always be pilot jobs out there, and they don't give a crap what you majored in. Choose a major that interests you in a field that can get you a job should you lose your medical, or something else keeps you out of the air. If you absolutely love airplanes, I would suggest aeronautical engineering. However, any degree will do. Even dance is more useful than aviation science.

However, I will offer this advice: please, PLEASE don't major in aviation!
:yeahthat:
It's not too much of a pain to balance both. It up to the person as to how much they can push themselves and also how much of a sacrifice they can make when it comes to social life.

I didnt find it a pain at all. Then again I did most my training during summer just flying everyday. Its alot cheaper then going the college aviation route though. I would deff recommend it.

If you have a job, forget it, not going to happen.

However, school + flying isn't bad at all and very doable.

I did it...not too bad. Even worked full time for a good part of it. If I can you can.

Thanks for the replies guys :) I already know that I shouldn't major in aviation so don't worry :p I just kinda wanted to know how it was going to classes and doing homework, while heading to the FBO on your spare time to get the ratings.